Why the I.D.E.A.S Program?

As a senior in high school, I did not know what I wanted to do regarding my education. I was passionate about conservation and the environment, and the majority of my family were engineers; I began to wonder about how I could put my two interests together. Beginning my junior year, like so many other college bound students, I visited a plethora of schools.

From the University of Maine to Duke University, I scoured the Northeast hunting for my “perfect school.” Lehigh was the end of my college search. Taking my first steps onto the Lehigh campus, I remember looking out to brightly colored flowers and trees. As I trekked up the unbearably steep hill, I let the beauty of the cobblestone and Hogwarts style buildings  on campus sink in.

Shortly after arriving, I learned about the I.D.E.A.S. Program. This program could give me the ability to get an integrated degree with the school of engineering and the school of arts and sciences. It was a dream come true. When I asked, “Could I double major in engineering arts and sciences” Lehigh was the first college that appreciated the nature of my interest and gave me an opportunity to embrace it. I was more excited than ever, so I decided to take initiative. I met with the creator and head of IDEAS, William Best, and after we talked, I was inspired and excited to start on my journey at Lehigh.

 

Leave a Reply

