Romance in the Digital Age

I can’t believe I’m writing a blog about romance. Hmm… this is going to be a new experience for me. However, I am going to stick with it, as this is bugging me.

When I logged into my account today I stumbled across a blog about speed-dating in Shanghai (Here’s the link if you are interested: https://wordpress.com/read/post/feed/22973954/879483979). As I was reading through it I found myself becoming more and more surprised by the culture surrounding these relationships. I can’t help but wonder how much of the “intensity” highlighted in this story is due to the technological world we live in.

Technology has this strange way of making relationships easier to form, but harder to maintain. On the one hand, we can find people all across the globe at the swipe of a finger. All it takes is the effort to open up a phone app. Yet, phones also create problems in the sense that constant communication can have its downsides. Relationships will sprout up in a surge of passion, yet dwindle away as that fire fades. Sure, this has been true for most generations, to an extent, yet this seems more common these days.

It’s interesting how people create whole new persona’s online. In many cases, the online personality is a complete 180′ from that real person. This can lead to a bunch of problems- do we love the Facebook profile, or the person?

Texting on a Friday
Seen in central London.

Unmodified picture from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/garryknight/ 16666635654

One thought on “Romance in the Digital Age

  1. Dan, I’ve enjoyed all of your blogs, your professor certainly has his students thinking on different topics (out of the box). He must be interesting in the class room. Grand ma

Leave a Reply

