Kindness at its Finest

Last week was Kindness Week here at Lehigh. Strangely though I didn’t hear about it until it smacked me in the face… with kindness…

Every Tuesday I get to sleep in. It’s quite wonderful really. Every other day of the week I have to get up at 7:00 A.M. which is death. Needless to say, my Tuesday’s always start on the right foot. After I grab some breakfast I stroll down to my Personality Psych class. As I’m partially a psychology major, this isn’t a problem. I love that class. Typically, I then stroll off to my Anthro class (another class I enjoy) and then my Tuesday is basically over.

Sadly though, this Tuesday was a bit different. That Monday I had been working on an Anthro essay (the first of the semester) so I was a bit stressed. Just before going to bed I realized that I made the mistake of writing my essay almost like a speech. Which, admittedly was a mistake that is easily avoidable… except when I am passionate about something, I feel like I need to tell people about it. In that way my essay became the awkward love child of a informative essay and upbeat speech. To restate, I was stressed.

When I finally finished it, I couldn’t get any sleep that night. It was just a restless night. When morning finally came I got an email announcing a two hour delay! Yet, as I mentioned I don’t start classes until late Tuesday anyway (10:45) so my excitement deflated quickly. When time came to go to class, I walked outside to be greeted by a disgusting amount of rain and slush everywhere. Only a handful of paths were nicely cleaned off at this point, so my journey to psych was fraught with near death slipping incidents. To summarize, this is basically how my entire Tuesday went.

When I went to dinner at Rathbone I wasn’t exactly over excited about my chances at getting something I liked. However, when I walked in the door, the monitor who swipes our I.D. cards refused to take mine and handed me what looked like a business card. I was a bit flustered, so it took me a minute to realize it was a kindness week card and that she gave me free dinner. From that point on, my day looked a whole lot brighter. Thanks monitor lady, you saved my Tuesday.

So, moral of the story is… well… even though walking around campus is full of people staring at there phones and avoiding eye-contact; there are still moments of kindness. So go out and be nice to people!

Leave a Reply

